

# State Central Committee Meeting June 30, 2018

The regular meeting of the State Central Committee of the Republican Party of Virginia was held at the offices of McGuireWoods LLC in Richmond, VA on June 30, 2018. Chairman John Whitbeck called the meeting to order at 10:12am. Secretary Jill Cook was present.

The invocation was given by Melvin Adams.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Delegate John McGuire.

The Republican Creed was read by Mike Thomas.

The Chair appointed the College Republican representatives, Jacob Neff and Ian Frith, to the Proxy Committee.

The Chair welcomed new members and asked them to introduce themselves.

The following members attended in person:

John Whitbeck Mike Thomas Morton Blackwell Cynthia Dunbar Jill Cook John Selph Chris Marston Jerry Kilgore Bob Watson Dennis Free Jennifer Lee Jack Wilson Melvin Adams Jennifer Brown	Andrew Nicholson Jacob Neff Kishore Thota Mary Franklin John Cosgrove Amanda Batten Wendell Walker Nancy Dye Russ Wright Larry Kile Robert Cunningham Jeff Ryer Carolyn Weems Ashley McLeod	Bill Coburn Angela Swygert Carey Allen Renee Maxey Ed Yensho Will Kirk Travis Witt Steve "Doc" Troxel Carrie Thompson Mark Hile David Ross Susan Lascolette Dewey McDonnell Nancy Smith
Jennifer Brown	Ashley McLeod	Nancy Smith
Ben Slone Mark Kelly	Wesley Edwards Steve Trent	Charlie Keller Sandy Liddy Bourne

David FosterRichard McCartyMarie QuinnAaron SpradlinErin PorchRobert ThomasCorey ScottRyan RaunerBill DeSteph

Susan Edwards Ian Frith
Sharon Ashurst Eric Nielsen
Mark Sell Erika Dyer
Eve Gleason Linda Bartlett

The report of the Proxy Committee was accepted. Eight proxies were found to be in order. Several proxies arrived after the report, and were duly checked and added.

The following members attended by proxy:

Adam Tolbert - proxy held by Zack Thompson

Paul Prados - proxy held by Roland Smith

Chris Stolle - proxy held by Del. John McGuire

Steve Albertson - proxy held by Jacob Mosser

Carol Dawson - proxy held by Arlene Jaconelli

Chad Green - proxy held by Cindy Free

Carole de Triquet - proxy held by Christine de Triquet-Byrum

Barbara Tabb - proxy held Zachary Wood

Joanne Holden - proxy held by Will Pace

Nate Boyer - proxy held by Veronica Shikoski

Michelle Jenkins - proxy held by Tyler Lester

Carey Allen - proxy held by Peter Foster, following her early departure.

Julie Williams - proxy held by Esther Ehrenman

Dustin Rinehart - proxy held by Evan Draim

The minutes of the meeting of March 24, 2018, were approved as corrected.

## **Reports from National Committee Members**

Chairman Whitbeck allowed the National Committeewoman and National Committeeman's reports to be given out of order.

The Chair recognized Clara Belle Wheeler, who gave a report on the State Board of Elections.

A motion was made to reconvene in executive session for the purpose of discussing finances. The motion carried by voice vote; the Committee convened in executive session at 10:54am.

The Committee reconvened in regular session at 12:26pm.

Upon motion by Dave Foster, adopted by voice vote, the Committee certified that the executive session considered party finances and resolutions regarding current events.

#### **New Business**

# Party Plan Committee Amendment

Morton Blackwell moved the adoption of the Party Plan amendments recommended by the Party Plan Committee:

AMENDMENTS #1 & 2 – Equitable List Distribution Process to be Included in Calls 2

Amend Article VIII, Section A, #1, by adding a new Paragraph e:

e. When, how, and to whom lists of elected delegates shall be submitted (if applicable), and shall set forth an equitable process for how the official committee issuing the call shall distribute the delegate list to all duly filed candidates for the same public or party office

Amend Article VIII, Section A, #2, by adding a new Paragraph d:

d. An equitable process for the distribution of lists of pre-filed participants to all duly filed candidates for public or party office (if pre-filings are required).

Jack Wilson moved to recommit the proposed Party Plan amendments to the Party Plan Committee with instructions to report at the State Central Committee's next meeting, a Party Plan amendment that requires Units to provide candidates with lists of their delegates, or those prefiled for delegate, within a specific number of days of the prefiling deadline or, in cases in which prefiling is not required, their election as delegates.

On a counted rising vote of 42-29, the Wilson motion carried and the proposed Party Plan amendments were recommitted to the Party Plan Committee.

### Reports from District Chairmen

The First District report was given by Bob Watson.

The Second District report was given by Ashley McLeod. She announced her resignation effective July 1, and that Bill Curtis has been elected as her successor.

The Third District report was given by Jennifer Lee.

The Fourth District report was given by Jack Wilson.

The Fifth District report was given by Melvin Adams.

The Sixth District report was given by Jennifer Brown.

The Seventh District was report given by Ben Slone.

The Eighth District report was given by Mark Kelly.

The Ninth District was report given by Corey Scott.

The Eleventh District report was given by Roland Smith.

The VFRW report was delivered by new president Mary Franklin. She noted that the organization's new theme is "US" - "Unity and Strategy".

The YR report was delivered by Kishore Thota.

The CR report was delivered by Jacob Neff. He noted the new "Door Wars" program for canvassing.

# **State Chairman's Report**

Chairman Whitbeck announced his resignation effective July 21, 2018.

Upon adoption of a motion to adjourn by voice vote, the Committee adjourned at 1:15pm.