

# **State Central Committee Meeting September 16, 2017**

The regular meeting of the State Central Committee of the Republican Party of Virginia was held at the Wytheville Community Center in Wytheville, VA on September 16, 2017. Chairman John Whitbeck called the meeting to order at 10:11am. Secretary Jill Cook was present.

The invocation was given by Delegate Jeff Campbell.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Delegate Will Morefield.

The Republican Creed was read by Chairman Whitbeck.

The Chair appointed Nadia Elgendy, Tyler Perkins and Lauren Keiser to the Proxy Committee. The Committee reported that 23 proxies were in order.

The following members attended in person:

Kevin Gentry

John Whitbeck Wendell Walker Carrie Thompson Morton Blackwell Mark Hile Nancy Dye Jeff Ryer Cynthia Dunbar Susan Lascolette Jill Cook Steve Trent Dewey McDonnell Chris Marston Carole de Triquet Charlie Keller **Bob Watson** Bill Coburn Sandy Liddy Bourne Jennifer Lee Barbara Tabb David Foster Jack Wilson Pete Burkhimer Aaron Spradlin Lynn Tucker Carey Allen Michelle Jenkins Scott Sayre **Corey Scott** Renee Maxey Ben Slone Ed Yensho Susan Edwards Adam Tolbert Joanne Holden **Andrew Nicholson** Nadia Elgendy Will Kirk Mark Sell Kishore Thota **Travis Witt** Fredy Burgos John Cosgrove Nate Boyer Erika Dyer Steve "Doc"Troxel

The following members attended by proxy:

Michael Thomas - proxy held by Peter Foster John Selph – proxy held by Donald Williams Jerry Kilgore – proxy held by Matt Ogburn Dennis Free – proxy held by Bruce Meyer Mark Kelly – proxy held by Chris Marston Paul Prados – proxy held by Anne Gentry Ellen Nau – proxy held by Patsy Walker Jackson Miller - proxy held by Will Morefield Steve Albertson – proxy held by Danielle Davis Carol Dawson – proxy held by Michael H Schoelwer Carolyn Weems – proxy held by Connie Meyer Joseph Sonsmith – proxy held by Sandy Adams Anne Fitzgerald – proxy held by Ken Adams David Ross - proxy held by Dale Swanson Nancy Smith – proxy held by Phil Rapp Puneet Ahluwalia – proxy held by Ron Wright Ryan Rauner – proxy held by Stephen Spiker Jack Koltisko – proxy held by Lauren Keiser Jacob Neff – proxy held by Tyler Perkins Dustin Rinehart – proxy held by Thomas Turner Linda Bartlett – proxy held by Trixie Averill Marie Quinn – proxy held by Kathy Hayden Jimmie Massie – proxy held by Del Jeffrey Campbell

The proxy report was accepted. There were 23 proxies found to be in order.

The minutes of the regular meeting of June 24, 2017 meeting were approved.

#### **State Chairman's Report**

The Chair requested a motion to enter Executive Session to hear a report from Elliot Echols, Director of Team Virginia, to discuss Election Day operation and strategies, and to deliver the finance report.

At 10:20am, Ben Slone moved to enter Executive Session. Motion was approved by voice vote. At 11:05am, Ben Slone moved to exit Executive Session. Motion was approved by voice vote and the Chair called the Committee back to order.

#### State Chairman's Report (continued)

The Chair welcomed new members and said farewell to members who are leaving.

## **Unfinished Business and General Orders**

## Communications Best Practices Task Force Report

Dave Foster moved to adopt the recommendations of the Task Force, as enumerated in the Report. Motion passed unanimously by voice vote.

The Chair recognized Congressman Morgan Griffith, who addressed the committee for four minutes.

## **Appeals Review Committee**

Bob Watson reported on behalf of the Committee. The committee presented their work in the form of a resolution. Wendell Walker moved to adopt the resolution. Following discussion, the motion passed by voice vote.

The Chair recognized Rollin Reisinger, who spoke on behalf of Jill Vogel.

The Chair recognized Kathy Hayden, who spoke on behalf of John Adams.

At 11:30am, the Chair announced a recess for lunch.

At 12:03pm, the Chair called the Committee back to order.

#### **New Business**

The Chair recognized Cynthia Dunbar, who spoke on behalf of Ed Gillespie.

Morton Blackwell delivered the National Committeeman's report; which focused on three items:

- Gillespie youth effort there are currently 3 youth organizers in VA.
- RNC Funds fund-raising is significantly ahead of DNC
- RNC Rules Mr. Blackwell offered hard copies of the Rules of the Republican Party, noting that they can also be found on the RNC website.

Bob Watson delivered the First District report.

Lynn Tucker ceded her Fifth District time to Travis Witt, who spoke about church outreach.

Bruce Meyer delivered the Second District report.

Jennifer Lee delivered the Third District report.

Carey Allen delivered the Fourth District report.

Scott Sayre delivered the Sixth District report.

Ben Slone delivered the Seventh District report.

Chris Marston delivered the Eighth District report.

Adam Tolbert delivered the Ninth District report.

Andrew Nicholson delivered the Tenth District report.

Fredy Burgos delivered the Eleventh District report.

Kishore Thota delivered the YR report. They just held their national convention. Nine states will deploy YRs to VA for election help.

Nadia Elgendy delivered the CR report. They have taken a more localized approach with the chapters and created a guidebook.

The Chair reminded the Committee of the Fightin' Ninth Stampede, scheduled for later today.

Dewey McDonnell moved to rescind the adoption of Communications Best Practices Task Force Report. Jeff Ryer moved to substitute a motion to reconsider. The Committee agreed to the substitution by voice vote. Motion to reconsider the vote failed 37-24. The adoption of the recommendations of the Communications Best Practices Task Force stands.

Corey Scott moved to adjourn; motion passed by voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 12:47pm.