Latest News

RPV Announces Qualified Convention Candidates

Richmond, VA – Today, the Republican Party of Virginia announced the final list of candidates who will appear on the ballot at the May 8 nominating convention. The deadline for candidates to file was Friday, March 26 at 5:00 PM.

The candidates who have filed are listed in alphabetical order according to surname and are as follows:


  • Amanda Chase
  • Kirk Cox
  • Sergio de la Peña
  • Peter Doran
  • Octavia Johnson
  • Pete Snyder
  • Glenn Youngkin

Lieutenant Governor:

  • Puneet Ahluwalia
  • Lance Allen
  • Glenn Davis
  • Tim Hugo
  • Maeve Rigler
  • Winsome Sears

Attorney General:

  • Leslie Haley
  • Jason Miyares
  • Chuck Smith
  • Jack White

“The field is now set for the 2021 Virginia State Republican Convention with an incredible slate of Republican candidates for statewide office,” said RPV Chairman Rich Anderson. “I’m proud of these Virginians who have stepped forward to offer themselves in service to our Commonwealth as governor, lieutenant governor, and attorney general. Each possesses unique attributes of leadership; all are devoted to the premise that Republicans can make life better for their fellow Virginians.

“The last seven years of the McAuliffe-Northam administration have been a disastrous flirtation with ideological extremism that attacks police officers, rewards criminals, shuts down our economy, collapses schools and public education, and enables the destruction of Virginia’s capital city by ruthless mobs. Virginians should look at all of these Republican statewide candidates carefully, because three of them are going to take the oath of office in January 2022 as our next executive branch officials.”